Enjoy The Drive

CAR2

Four wheels and a steering wheel.
Highways and stop lights moving me between here and eternity.
The journey is the space between the turning of the engine and where I am to go.

I enjoy it most on the roads unfamiliar-
winding as my thoughts.

The quiet solace of the safety of steel.
In command of the destination, and at peace with my path.

I revel in the anonymity of the cars passing by.
Unknowing of my bliss-
the rapture of the road I drive.

Traffic is synchronicity
each of us heading somewhere.
Dancing along the sands of time.
Influenced, to varying degrees,
Affected by the proximity,
the perspective-
of fellow asphalt passengers.

Whisperings turn to Narrations as I navigate.
Spirit speaks to me when my foot is on the gas.
Windows down… Music always in accordance with my plan.
The breeze nudges softly in response
to my inquiries.
Birds of prey cross paths with me
bowing mighty wings in acknowledgement
of the freedom that exists in motion.

It is simple, this pleasure.
I say it is alchemy.
I say it is efficiency.
I say it is elegance-
To trust in the journey
and enjoy the drive.

2 thoughts on “Enjoy The Drive

Leave a Reply

